top of page

EmBe announces Tribute to Women nominees

March 21, 2022

Sixty-three women, men and businesses have been nominated for the 49th annual EmBe Tribute to Women awards.

“To all of the nominees and nominators, thank you for your outstanding contribution to the empowerment, development and advancement of our community,” said Susanne Gale, EmBe chief development officer. “These awards allow us to honor the impact made by incredible individuals and sustain our mission to empower the women and families of our community. We truly appreciate all that you do.”

The awards will be presented at the 2022 Tribute to Women event April 21 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center.

Here are the nominees and their employers:

Banking and Finance

  • Joan Bartling, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce

  • Patti Brands, The Bancorp

  • Heather Hofer, Woltman Group

  • Kristina Schaefer, First Bank & Trust

  • Heather Schelling, Northwestern Mutual

  • Lindsey Swenson, Northwestern Mutual

Business Achievement

  • Jessica Arend, Ronald McDonald House of South Dakota

  • Katie Ashmore, Schemmer Associates

  • Katie Bartling, Sammons Financial Group

  • Kyriel Clark, Hurdle Life and Inner Child Circle

  • Tiffany Hansen, 3 Degrees Sauna Studio

  • Sara Henderson, Avera Health

  • Kristin Hoefert-Redlinger, Northwestern Mutual

  • Adeline Reiman, Gallagher

  • Nancy Savage, Child’s Play Toys

  • Becky Word, Lloyd Cos.

  • Nicole Freesemann, Raven Industries

Community Service

  • Abby Bischoff, Stockyards Ag Experience

  • Sierra Broussard, Cracker Barrel

  • Irina Goubanova, Translators of Cultures/Minority Youth Advocacy

  • Stephanie Marty, Peace Lutheran Sioux Falls/The Transformation Project

  • Jadyn Kay Ramazani, Jadyn Kay’s Spritz Cookies

  • Angela Schoffelman, Avera

  • Serene Thin Elk, South Dakota Urban Indian Health

  • Stacy Wrighstman, Sanford Health

  • Tana Zwart, TZ Media Management

  • Jennifer Rothenbuehler, Presentations Sisters

EmBeliever (open to women, men, and organizations)

  • Matt Gassen, Feeding South Dakota retired CEO

  • Andy Howes, Howes Oil Co.

  • Melanie Keegan, Thrivent

  • Mary Kolsrud, Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation

  • Becky Rasmussen, Call to Freedom

  • Nancy Reynoza, ¿Que Pasa? Sioux Falls and Reynoza Real Estate

  • Dr. David Basel, Avera Health

  • Raven Industries

  • Sammons Financial Group

Government and Law

  • Shannon Ausen, city of Sioux Falls

  • Jennifer Disburg, Sioux Falls Police Department

  • Sue Lucas-Peterson, state of South Dakota

  • Cynthia Mickelson, Sioux Falls School Board

Healthcare and STEM

  • Lora Black, Sanford Health

  • Joni Ekstrum, South Dakota Biotech

  • Christa Friedrich, Avera

  • Christina Lankhorst, Sanford

  • Ashley Leuthold, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center

  • Emily Van Klompenburg, South Dakota State University/Allied Health Professions

  • Emily Wegner, Raven Industries

  • Wendy White, Face It Together

  • Gesine Ziebarth, Lost&Found

Humanities and Education

  • Dawn Marie Johnson, Sioux Falls School District – Joe Foss at Axtell Park

  • Shantel Krebs, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center

  • Wendy Mamer, Augustana University

  • Molly O’Connor, Lemonly

Sylvia Henkin Mentoring Award

  • Sandy Case, Case by Case Coaching

  • Dr. Nancy Free, Child’s Voice/Sanford Health

Young Woman of Achievement

  • Carly Hegstad, Lawrence & Schiller

  • Shannon Huether, Central Payments

  • Morgan Larson, South Dakota Manufacturing & Technology Solutions

  • Sydney Meza, The Empowerment Center

  • Janean Michalov, Furniture Mission of South Dakota

  • Madeline Miller, The Link

  • Rachel Polan, Sioux Falls Pride

  • Sara Romeo, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center

Seating at the event is limited but open to the public. Tickets for individual seats and tables of eight are available for purchase here.


bottom of page